Poetry is good for the soul.

Ah, yes. Poetry. If love were a writing style, poetry it would be. I believe my favorite part about poetry is that a single piece can contain a million different meanings to a million different people. Poetry has the power to provoke feeling and thought in even the most withdrawn individuals.

Poetry has gotten me through a lot in my life. Every person deals with adversity or struggle differently, and I happen to deal with my own through art. Whenever something has happened in my life of any significance, I’ve always turned to my pen to deal with and describe it. The ability to put my feelings on something concrete makes them more real and allows me to approach situations in the best mindset possible. The fact that I know I can hold on to my thoughts and feelings forever is incredibly romantic to me, and I only wish others can find a love for writing and poetry as I have. It’s honestly quite something.

This brings me to the topic at hand: scholarships. I know what you’re thinking. How do these two mix? As a high school senior and college applicant about to venture out into the world, I’ve come to realize just how much money can impact one’s life. I’m a natural born dreamer, but even dreamers have to pay the bills. My family is not particularly endowed or entitled, and because of this, I do have superior budgeting skills. Even my talents can not sail my through undergrad alone, however, and thus I have taken it upon myself to start applying for scholarships. (Within the next few weeks I intend on writing a separate post solely about scholarships, just a head’s up)

In my search, I came across a spectacular website: http://www.powerpoetry.org. After finding this site, I have to admit I spent an embarrassing amount of time just reading through contributions. I can’t believe I’ve lived the past seventeen years without this site in my bookmarks!

For those who love poetry, the site is great because you have the opportunity to read so many different styles from all different kinds of people. For college hopefuls who love to write poetry, the site offers incredible opportunities to make submissions and win scholarships. For anyone who loves to explore new works of art, especially raw, heartfelt work – this is the place for you.

Essentially, a topic is posted and anyone can upload their own poem. A new topic is added every couple of months. If you’ve never written poetry before, I recommend you try it, or at least visit the site. If you ask me, the majority of our nation’s problems could probably be solved if we all spent a little more time devoted to art and truly representing ourselves in the most natural and pure way possible.

Leave a Reply

