I was born in the wrong decade.

The other night I was scrolling through Netflix exploring my entertainment options when I came across a documentary on the Eagles. I was intrigued.

“History of the Eagles.” After reading the short blurb about the film, I decided to watch a few minutes of it just to see what it was really about.

I love music. The only genre I don’t listen to is scream-o/heavy metal. If you were to steal my beloved iPhone and scroll through my playlists, you’d come across Frank Sinatra and Beethoven along with Drake and CCR or Coldplay and the Arctic Monkeys. When I say I listen to everything, I mean it. I have a strong passion for the arts: music, poetry, paintings, three-dimensional masterpieces, literature. I love it all. I may prefer some works over others, but at the end of the day, I appreciate every piece simply because it is art. Art is romantic and provoking and powerful. What’s not to love?

My first CD was a greatest hits album of Eric Clapton’s, and at 8 years old it was my most prized possession. I would play it over and over and over again. As I grew older, I learned to love classic rock. With that expansion came my love for the Eagles.

There are so many artists and songs that it would be impossible to expose myself to it all, however, I try to listen to as much as I can. Unfortunately, this leaves little time for me to actually learn the story behind the music. And that is simply tragic. The story behind the music, the reasons why it was made and the influences an artist feels are really what makes a piece so extraordinary and truly transcendent of time and space.

I had known the Eagles experienced many trials and tribulations through their existence, but I never knew how many until watching the documentary. It never occurred to me the power Glenn Frey and Don Henley had and what amazing musicians they are. By watching the documentary, for the first time I really got to see which artists helped develop the Eagles and what obstacles the band faced.

If you have any passion for music and rock and roll, I highly recommend the documentary.

What shocked me the most was how the band evolved and withstood the tests of time. When you look at the Eagles albums, you can see how the group has changed. This partially had to do with the exchange of band members I’m sure, but mainly can be attributed to just time in general.

I could talk on and on about the documentary itself and the history of the Eagles, but honestly, I feel it’s something you should watch for yourself.

So what can we learn from this? What do we take away? That we all should’ve gotten the opportunity to live through the 70’s? Yes, we should’ve.  It’s not fair that we all didn’t get a chance to live through those glory days. What I’ve decided to take away from this is nostalgia and the acceptance and embracement of change. The Eagles, with Don Henley and Glenn Frey at its core, knew that to last forever and to truly be a legend band that it would have to somehow evolve and change without losing its integrity. I think we all experience this pressure to change and evolve. So many of us abandon ourselves to join the wave.

Change is funny.

Summary: my soul mate is a young Don Henley, afro and aviators in all, the Eagles are one of the best bands of all time, change and time don’t have to be destructive, and time flies, so it’s best to embrace the moments while we have them.

Leave a Reply

